Hamilton County

Hamilton County CommissionersPicture0007

Nikki Schwerdfeger
John Simon
Randy Braddock
Keith Puckett
Mike Lewis

The County Commissioners meet at 8:30AM on the first three Tuesdays of each month, first four Tuesdays if there are five weeks in the month.  Meetings are held in the Commissioners’ Room at the Hamilton County Court House, 219 N Main Street, Syracuse, Kansas.  All meetings are open to the public.

Elected Offices

County Clerk – Angie Moser – Jan/2021
County Treasurer – Steph Simon – Jan/2021
Register of Deeds – Vicki Valentine – Jan/2021
Sheriff – Michael Wilson – Jan/2021
County Attorney – Rob Gale – Jan/2021
Appraiser – Thomas Scott

2015 Community Survey Results

History of Hamilton County Kansas

Hamilton County Departments Contact Information

For more information including Minutes/Auto Registration/Voter Information/Etc see the menu to the left under Hamilton County.

The Rural Opportunity Zone Program facilitates the population growth of rural Kansas communities in 73 designated counties through the use of tax relief and student loan reimbursement.  Under this program, qualified individuals living in Hamilton County could be eligible to receive Kansas state income tax abatements, and student loan reimbursements provided by both the county and state on a matched basis.  Local matching funds for student loan reimbursement are contributed by Hamilton County and the City of Syracuse.

The director of the Rural Development Division of the Kansas Department of Commerce is responsible for the program.  The director establishes criteria, subject to the provisions of the statute, to determine eligibility of resident individuals.

ROZ Eligibility Guidelines & Zone Map     ROZ Application     ROZ 2014 Guideline Booklet

The Hamilton County Neighborhood Revitalization Program is in effect providing a mechanism for the County to award property tax rebates to approved applications which may include new construction, rehabilitation and expansion of existing residential, commercial, industrial, and agricultural structures. The newly approved program is a collaborative effort by all of the County’s taxing entities and is available to property owners throughout nearly all of Hamilton County including the communities of Coolidge, Kendall and Syracuse.  For more information download the brochure here.

Welcome to Syracuse

Would you like to learn more about our community? See our Community brochure where you can learn more about all our community has to offer!

The LEGO Ninjago Movie

Showing this Week

"The LEGO Ninjago Movie"

Northrup Theatre
Showtime 7:00PM MT